TED Talk: Coding a Better Government

I’m not sure how I feel about this TED Talk. The idea that “government [can] be run like the Internet, permissionless and open,” is new to me, and I haven’t warmed up to it yet.

I guess the idea that apps can help “connect citizens to their government,” while it may be true, rubs me the wrong way. I think that this idea (to have apps correlate with the government) may be appropriate and even helpful in some neighborhoods. However, for many neighborhoods across America, this is not a feasible or appropriate plan due to the economic standing of many Americans. In my hometown (Pineville/Alexandria, LA), 24.3% of persons are below the poverty level from 2006- 2010. In Louisiana, the statewide percentage of persons below the poverty level is 18.1%. The assumption that I made about these individuals below the poverty line is that they can barely afford groceries – never mind a smart phone!

In Pineville/Alexandria, we have some pretty nice public libraries with computers available for use from those with a library card. However, as far as I could tell, from looking at Code for America’s website, the apps provided are to be used from a smart phone, not a computer. All of the apps provided are also for major cities – the closest one to my hometown (and the only one in Louisiana) is located in New Orleans (who’s percentage of persons below the poverty level is 24.4%).

When I compare these poverty levels to, for example, the issue of fire hydrants being covered in snow, my gut feeling is frustration. The solution of having an app to fix this problem sends the message to me that only those with a smart phone (which can imply that the citizen is at least middle-middle class) can be productive members of the community in this situation. Also, in my opinion, while having fire hydrants readily available for use is important, so is improving the levels of poverty across America. It frustrates me that issues that seem trivial to me have apps such as this that are being funded in a city that’s percentage of persons below the level of poverty are higher than New Orleans’.

One response

  1. I can see where you are coming from Sara. One problem with reliance on apps is that there is a need for a smart phone. Still, I find it fascinating that our society is able to use these apps in an applicable way that benefits the community. Smart phones are becoming more used by people in the world. Granted, most of these people are likely more privileged, it is still beneficial to a world that is increasingly using smartphones and apps on them. As the Ted Talk mentions, there are 9 cities planning to use these kinds of apps. What common denominator I notice is that the apps have some kind of reward behind them or the user feels a sense of purpose. As people we are more likely it seems to respond to a situation in a positive way if we gain something out of it. While it would be nice for everyone to have a smartphone, I think it is still a step in the right direction to have those who can make a difference being able to.

Leave a comment